Oils by the Sea Youth Artist Opening

WhenFriday, August 4, 6pm

WhereOils by the Sea Gallery, 437 Commercial Street



PriceFree and open to the public

In collaboration with PAAM’s Youth Programs, Oils By The Sea / ROCCAPRIORE GALLERY has chosen Hannah Capra as the recipient for the 2017 season. This very talented artist will be celebrated with an exhibition of her works at the gallery during Family Week, July 29th – August 6th. An opening reception will be held Friday, August 4th from 6 – 8PM and a portion of all sales will benefit PAAM’s Youth Program.

About Hannah Capra

“I am an artist who creates for the purpose of releasing emotion into the world,” begins Hannah Capra’s statement about her art-making process. Hannah, who is entering her junior year at Cape Cod Regional Technical High School, has participated in PAAM’s youth programs for the past 5 years.  Over that time she has gone from a middle-school novice to a practicing artist and a mentor to younger peers.

She says, “I especially admire the artists that I work with, specifically those who have been learning alongside me in PAAM’s Art Reach, Art on the Edge and Reaching Forward Mentor programs, because I have learned just as much from them as any instructor has been able to teach me.”

About Shirl Roccapriore

Shirl Roccapriore’s vision for this program is twofold: to support young, developing artists and to give back to Provincetown’s art community. “As a child, I had a mentor who took me under her wing at the age of seven. Without the good and kindheartedness of the artist who lived across the street growing up in Connecticut, Betsey Logozzo (Elizabeth Wright) saw a spark in a little girls eye… I don’t know where I would be today. I am so grateful for her acknowledging my passion to be creative and for teaching me how to mix colors and paint at such an early age.”

“My intention”, says Roccapriore, “is to follow the students I choose over a 5 year span; this select group will have another opportunity to come back to the gallery and show their latest work. It will be so exciting to see how their work has progressed over the years.”

Previous recipients include Kaleigh Mason and Sam Starobin (both 2016), Allegra Martin (2015) and Adrian Hackney (2014).